29 Oct - 1 Nov 2020

Round 6
International GT Open
Barcelona Catalunya

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
Start: 14:15
The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is a motorsport race track in Montmeló, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. With long straights and a variety of corners, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is seen as an all-rounder circuit. The track has stands with a capacity of 140,700. The circuit has FIA Grade 1 license.
2020-11-01 02:20:00


Also to holding the Spanish Grand Prix on a permanent basis, it is known for hosting other events. Including racing series, including the FIA ​​Sportscar Championship (1999-2002), European Touring Car Championship (2003), FIA GT Championship (2003), Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters (2006-2011), European Le Mans Series (2008-2009, 2019 ) and World Series by Renault (2002-2004, 2006-2011), GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup (2017-present), 24 h de Barcelona Trofeu Fermi Velez and FIA World Rallycross Championship (since 2015). 

It is a place of unforgettable moments. It was here that one of the most important races took place. Competition between Ayrton Senna and Nigel Mansell. Both fought for 1st place at the 1991 Formula One World Championship for Drivers. In 1996, Michael Schumacher gained his first victory as a Ferrari driver. The track was the scene of two Formula 1 debut. During the Grand Prix, Pastor Maldonado had his first and only victory in 2012. The second recorded debut was the 2016 race, won by Max Verstappen. As a result, he became the youngest driver to win a race in F1 Grand Prix history. 



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

Name Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
Location Montmeló, Barcelona, Spain
Major events 1992 Summer Olympics, Formula One, Spanish Grand Prix, Moto GP, Catalan motorcycle Grand Prix, World RX of Spain.
Opened 1991
Circuit length 4.655 km
Turns 16

Construction began in 1989 and its completion took place in 1991. Later that year, the track was put into operation and began to host the Spanish Grand Prix on a permanent basis. The construction of the facility coincided with the planned Olympic Games in 1992. Where the track served as the start and finish of a road time trial. 

The first name of the racetrack was Circuit de Catalunya. In 2015 its name changed into Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. Due to an agreement concluded between Barcelona City Council. Unlike the Spanish Montjuic circuit, the circuit is not located in Barcelona. Its exact location is Montmelo, Catalonia, Spain.