20 - 22 Aug 2021

DTM 2021

Start: 13:15
2021-08-22 13:15:00


Interesting facts:

  • The track was changed many times for safety reasons. In 1976, Niki Lauda – Austrian racing driver, three-time Formula 1 world champion, proposed a boycott of the race to be held at this track. What worried the champion was the lack of judges around the track and the safety issues (or lack thereof). Additionally, he was against having a race in a storm which made the road extremely difficult to drive fast. Ultimately, the race went as planned with Lauda crashing his Ferrari. It was only through the cooperation of other drivers (Arturo Merzario, Guy Edwards, Brett Lunger and Harald Ertl) that Lauda was saved.
  • Following the accident involving Niki Lauda, the Old Nurburgring circuit is no longer hosting F1 races. Since then, the Grand Prix and the German Motorcycle Grand Prix (since 1980) have been moved to the Hockenhemring track.
  • In 1984, a new version of the track, called GP-Strecke, was completed. “Großer Preis-Strecke which literally can be translated as” Grand Prix Course “. Although it was built to the highest safety standards, it was considered as the shadow of its older brother.
  • The Nürburgring became the official Formula 1 Grand Prix after 7 years. The event was scheduled for October 9-11, 2020. The race was called the Eifel Grand Prix in honour of the mountain range in the area. This means that this track will host an event under a fourth different name. Previously, it was the Grand Prix of Germany, Europe and Luxembourg.



Friday       20 August 2021:   15:30 – Free Practice

Saturday   21 August 2021:   10:20 – Qualifying for  Race 1

Saturday   21 August 2021:   14:30 – Race 1

Sunday     22 August 2021:   10:15 –  Qualifying for Race 2

Sunday     22 August 2021:   13:30 – Race 2







Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin


Name Nürburgring
Location Nürburg, Germany
Major events Formula One, German Grand Prix, European Grand Prix, Luxemburg Grand Prix, Superbike World Championship, DTM, 24 Hours Nürburgring, 1000 km Nürburgring, NLS
Opened 1984
Circuit length 5.148 km
Turns 15